14. The Lion Enclosure – EB

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

‘Too quickly, we’re at the base of the ramp that travels over and above the lion enclosure… we stop in front of box squared wire… “Lions. You’re going to put us in with the lions.“‘ – pg 296

THIS POST CONTAINS SPOILERS

I liked this location in the zoo the most because it is one that features quite heavily throughout the last 40 pages of the book. I can’t really go into how Rachel and Mycroft end up being forced into the lion enclosure without being ridiculously spoilery but, you know, clearly it’s The Baddie (yes, I still say ‘the baddie/s’) that puts them in this situation. Real talk for a sec: while we knew they were obviously scared, I can’t understand how (once they were forced in there) they both didn’t lose their heads completely and start screaming the zoo down because lions are beautiful and majestic and ABSOLUTELY TERRIFYING creatures to look at, much less get stuck in the same space with, holy wow.

But hey, that is because I am, well, me and not Rachel or Mycroft.

Imagine if I was the Rachel in Every Breath, instead of Rachel Watts.

‘Rachel, what are you doing?’

‘Stop screaming.’

‘Get up off the ground.’

‘Okay.’

‘We need to run.’

‘No, please stop running your fingers through my hair.’

‘No, you can’t bum a ciggy, you quit ages ago.’

‘RACHEL, WE HAVE TO RUN.’

‘Yes, I know you hate running, but you do realise we’ll die otherwise, right?’

‘Oh, for fuck’s sake.’

And then we’d angrily make out before the baddies captured us because I really don’t run. Ever.

ANYWAY.

*daydreams about snogging James Mycroft*

ANYWAY ANYWAY.

I tried to both capture the size of the enclosure and get a good shot of the lions in the photos below, but I kind of feel like I failed on both accounts. With the one above there, we thought it was the area Ellie was describing in the quote we’ve included, or at least probably the area she based it on because there’s a ramp and a fence and IT TOTALLY IS, OKAY?

– Rachel

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

