Top Ten Tuesday – 35. FREEBIE: Authors That Deserve More Recognition

TTT3W

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish (click on the picture to visit their blog). A new Top Ten list is posted every week for fellow bloggers to participate in.

_______________________________

ANNETTE

I’ve decided to choose all Australian YA authors because; 1. they are amazing 2. they don’t get nearly enough worldwide credit and 3. more Aussie authors means more book locations to travel.

1. John Marsden (the Tomorrow Series, the Ellie Chronicles, etc) – This may seem strange to any Aussies reading this because John Marsden is so well known here, but apparently he’s not the international sensation that I think he should be.  He’s written something like 65 books and is one of the most well-known YA authors in Australia. I mean, HE WROTE THE ‘TOMORROW SERIES’ PEOPLE.  Yet I’ve spoken to several non-Aussies who don’t know who he is.  Granted, it’s not a huge sample size to base this judgement on but whatever…he should be a household name okay. The guy is a bloody genius.

2. Claire Zorn (The Sky So Heavy and The Protected) – This is probably bad of me to say given that I have only read her debut. BUT. It was awesome.  It was great to read an end-of-the-world book set in a country with strict gun laws.  It changes the whole game.  I feel like Claire Zorn doesn’t have enough Australian recognition, let alone international.

3. Vikki Wakefield (All I Ever Wanted and Friday Brown) (Inbetween Days out this month!) – Vikki is like, Melina Marchetta level of brilliance.  Why is she not on the New York Times Bestseller list? (I assume she isn’t/hasn’t been but I did zero research on this).  Guys…fuck.  You need to read her books. They will crush your heart and you will love it.  (And Vikki, if you ever read this, I just want you to know that I have, on 2 occasions, been in your presence and I know I have come across as rude or weird or something but it’s just that I’m socially awkward and you’re you and I couldn’t even…)

4. Melina Marchetta (ALL THE BOOKS THAT ARE AMAZING) – Okay so Melina is on pretty much every list I ever make ever, but dude…why don’t people know her name?  She should be one of those authors that everyone just knows.  Even non-readers.  Half of Australia studied Looking For Alibrandi and they don’t know her name when I say it.  That is BLASPHEMOUS.

5. Melissa Keil (Life In Outer Space and The Incredible Adventures Of Cinnamon Girl) – Melissa’s books are adorable and they have GREAT covers and they are just SO CUTE but also really awesome and not fluff reads.  Her debut was only 2 years ago and she’s already become this well-known superstar (with fantastic hair) in the YA book loving community and I just think that the knowledge of her existence should be more widespread.

RACHEL

  1. Brandy Colbert (Pointe)
  2. Laura Buzo (Good Oil and Holier Than Thou)
  3. Kirsty Eagar (Raw Blue, Saltwater Vampires and Night Beach) (Summer Skin coming Feb 2016!!)
  4. Alyssa Brugman (Finding Grace, Alex As Well, etc)
  5. Hannah Harrington (Saving June and Speechless)

Okay so first I need to say that while obviously I think these authors are underrated and I wish they were more well known, I’m not entirely sure if that is completely accurate in the wider scheme of things.

But anyway. Here is some of my ideas on why more people aren’t yelling their names from the rooftops, like I sometimes feel like doing but don’t because what if I fall?

  1. Alyssa, Kirsty and Laura are Australian so that doesn’t help their chances straight off the bat because even though they might be well known in Australia, chances are they’re not overseas.
  2. Laura and Hannah each last published a book in 2012 and I haven’t heard any news of any upcoming books from either, and in fact, I haven’t heard any news of them at all as Hannah isn’t active on either her website/Twitter and Laura doesn’t even have a website/Twitter (as far as I know).
  3. Brandy is a 2014 debut author.

All of these authors have produced books that I love a lot and I wish I had more people in my life that liked to read so I could force their books on them. Instead, I have this post. If you are reading this and are currently after something to read – give one of these authors a go. Please and thank you.

Honourable mentions go to Eli Glasman (The Boy’s Own Manuel To Being A Proper Jew) and Ash Parsons (Still Waters)

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 35. FREEBIE: Authors That Deserve More Recognition

    • thetometravellers says:

      Definitely check them all out, especially the Aussie ones. I promise you won’t regret it! Love your blog name btw, Take A Walk On The Wild Side is now stuck in my head. – Rachel

    • thetometravellers says:

      Yes! I can’t shout my love for these authors enough. Everyone needs to read their books, especially lovers of YA. Thanks for taking the time to comment! – Rachel

Leave a Reply

