Top Ten Tuesday – 34. Books I’ve Read So Far In 2015

TTT3W

 Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish (click on the picture to visit their blog). A new Top Ten list is posted every week for fellow bloggers to participate in.

_______________________________

ANNETTE

1. Whisper by Chrissie Keighery – I was pleasantly surprised by this book.  This was a ‘Rachel is a book pusher’ recommendation so I hadn’t read the blurb and I based my expectations on the cover.  I expected it to be some sort of fantasy novel and was tentative about starting it, but it was nothing like I expected.  Heart-warming, honest and Aussie, what more could you want?

2. The Boy’s Own Manual To Being A Proper Jew by Eli GlasmanEli Glasman is keeping the momentum of Amazing Aussie Authors going with his brilliant debut.  The Boy’s Own Manual To Being A Proper Jew is, quite frankly, fucking great.  Someone tell me he’s bringing out another book soon?

3. Every Move by Ellie Marney – The feels from this book are less of the ‘my heart has been ripped out of my chest while it’s still beating’ and more of the ‘fanning myself because HOT DAMN!’.  As if Mycroft wasn’t enough to make you swoon, Ellie just screws with your head by letting you get to know Harris Derwent.  All I can say is; the school dance scene – my oh my.

4. The Sky So Heavy by Claire Zorn – So this is my fourth Aussie book on my list…that was not intentional, I swear.  I loved The Sky So Heavy because it was post-apocalyptic but set in Australia, so limited guns which makes it more interesting.  I also loved that the characters didn’t suddenly become these kick arse hero’s with fighting abilities, they were just regular people.  Another debut, another author I can’t wait to read more from.

5. What Happens Next by Colleen Clayton – This has been my favourite read of the year so far and is almost, almost, a 5 star (I’d have to re-read to be sure).  Wow.  Just… just read it.

RACHEL

1. Pointe by Brandy Colbert – I’ve read at least one book every year since 2013 that has completely and utterly wrecked me, stomped all over my heart and head, left me with a book hangover for days after finishing. Pointe was my 2015 book. I read it in Jan and it’s still holding number one position for Favourite Read Of 2015. I won’t say anything else other than READ IT. READ IT NOW.

2. How To Build A House by Dana Reinhardt – This one was a real surprise. I bought it in the Boxing Day sale that Book Outlet had last year. Thought the blurb sounded interesting so I chucked it in my cart and I’m really glad I did. Was a 4 star read for me, and I don’t give out 4 (or 5) stars often. Perfect for the Quiet YA hashtag that pops up every now and again on Twitter.

3. If You Could Be Mine by Sara Farizan – Alright so IYCBM is up there with Pointe in terms of books that wreck you – especially because for a book that is quite easy to read and didn’t seem that long, it sure packs one hell of a punch. Although, you kind of get a sense it’s going to just by reading the blurb, but I finished it and I didn’t know what to do and my heart HURT. I actually met Sara Farizan at Reading Matters Public Day in May this year and I told her that while blathering on in my nervousness. She is SO lovely and I’ve got Tell Me Again How A Crush Should Feel on hold at the library so I can’t wait for it to come in and devour it.

4. The Flywheel by Erin Gough – I loved this book for a few reasons: 1. It featured a lesbian MC – LGBTQI characters, especially main ones, is something I feel we’re lacking in Oz YA unfortunately. 2. The numerous Marx Brothers references – I love love luuurve the Marx Brothers movies. Of the 10+ they made, there’s 6 of them that I used to watch over and over again with my Dad and brothers. 3. It’s a cute, sweet story that left me with all sorts of warm feels in my normally cold heart region.

5. You’re The Kind Of Girl I Write Songs About by Daniel Herborn – Books featuring music are my jam y’all. There’s nothing I love more than reading about how a character loves a song that I love (or really, even just a small mention of one has me shrieking – dude it could be playing in someone’s house that the MC is walking past and it still makes me beam). With YTKOGIWSA, it was Do You Realise by The Flaming Lips. I also very much appreciated the Bruce Springsteen love. And just as much as that, I related so strongly with Mandy’s feeling of being stuck cos I felt that too. And I still feel it, even though I’m nearly 25 now. Something you can experience at any stage of your life really.

Honourable mention goes out to Everything Beautiful by Simmone Howell (I finally read it you guys wooo). And in case you were wanting to know, books I’ve read in the past two years that are on par with Pointe in terms of destroying me are Friday Brown by Vikki Wakefield and Fault Line by Christa Desir.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 34. Books I’ve Read So Far In 2015

  1. Great picks! I LOVE What Happens Next sooo much! I really wish the author would write a new book soon. And I LOVE Dana Reinhardt. I just read her debut (lol I read everything by her backwards – the summer i learned to fly, we are the goldens, etc) and it was so lovely. Definitely pick up some other books by her!

    • thetometravellers says:

      Isn’t it just the best? It stomped all over my heart but I was OK with that because it was so fracking good! I haven’t read Dana Reinhardt but after 2 Rachel’s recommendations I feel this needs to be rectified.

Leave a Reply

