Top Ten Tuesday – 32. Authors I REALLY want to meet

TTT3W

 Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish (click on the picture to visit their blog). A new Top Ten list is posted every week for fellow bloggers to participate in.

_______________________________

ANNETTE

Shameless name drop; Rachel and I have met Melina Marchetta (twice) and Cath Crowley and Ellie Marney and and we hung out with Gayle Forman for a day so….life goals complete.  But if I want to be greedy, then another 5 authors I would figuratively die to meet are;

1. JOHN FRACKING GREEN OH MY GOD and I got so close, I flew halfway around the world to go to vidcon and then the line was so long that I couldn’t meet him and I almost crawled in a corner and died but I didn’t and instead I went to Disneyland.  *breath*

2. John Marsden

3. Enid Blyton

4. Melissa Keil

5. Trish Doller

But let’s be honest, I want to meet any author of any book I’ve ever read and liked ever.

RACHEL

Right so what happened when Ron Weasley saw Fleur Delacour for the first time is probably the best descriptor for what happens to me when I meet authors – ‘Ron went purple. He stared up at her, opened his mouth to reply, but nothing came out except a faint gurgling noise.’ But if there ever comes a time when I manage to get a handle on this, some of the authors I would love to meet are:

1. Courtney Summers – I don’t even know where to begin with Courtney Summers. Her books, her tweets, her tumblr – dude, she’s just a fantastic human being. Oh and she’s a Supernatural fan. So…

2. Hannah Harrington – Saving June is one of my all-time faves. I would love to meet the lady who wrote it, if only to thank her for those playlists. I can’t listen to California Love without thinking of Harper, Jake and Laney. On a really creepy (sorry) note, her hair is really pretty and I would like the opportunity to stare at it in real life.

3. Emily Rodda – I’m currently finishing up yet another reread of her MG/YA fantasy series – the Deltora Quest series 1, 2 and 3 – one of my childhood faves. I honestly don’t think I’ll ever tire of them, no matter how old I get. Fantasy fascinates me cos I can’t get over how authors create a whole other world. Impresses the hell out of me. And hey, Emily Rodda is an Aussie so meeting her may actually be achievable.

4. Roald Dahl – I dunno, does this one really need an explanation?

5. Vikki Wakefield – Okay I have technically already met Vikki, but only very briefly (on the same day we hung out with Gayle Forman) and I had only read Friday Brown about a month previously so I was still not okay and I can’t even remember if I said anything to her. I actually think I may have just stared in awe. Awkward.

I second Annette’s choices of Melissa Keil and Trish Doller. Honourable mentions to Simmone Howell and Steph Bowe.

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 32. Authors I REALLY want to meet

  1. Oh Ronald Dahl, that’s a good one!!! Courtney Summers is my #1 goal author to meet. And I stalk her on social media too… because she’s super smart and cool on there. I also agree w/ Annette, I would be down to meet any author of any book that I’ve liked. Cool lists 🙂

    • thetometravellers says:

      Yeah I was struggling to come up with my last author and was looking at my book shelf for inspiration, saw Matilda and screamed ‘OF COURSE!’ Yes, all the Courtney Summers love! She’s so funny and really takes the time to interact with fans of her books on Tumblr and Twitter. I think she should be on everyone’s list. Thank you for taking the time to comment! – Rachel

    • thetometravellers says:

      So much fun! And probably really socially awkward too, which would make me feel less bad about my own social awkwardness.
      – Annette

    • thetometravellers says:

      I actually had trouble thinking of 5, to be honest. But then I always struggle with TTT lists. One day it will come easy, one day! I reckon Roald & Enid would be on a lot of lists for this topic, their books are such iconic childhood faves. Thanks for taking the time to comment! – Rachel

    • thetometravellers says:

      Yes, we’re very lucky! We have that same issue with all our favourite non-Australian YA authors. But don’t lost hope, low chances is still better than no chance.
      – Annette

Leave a Reply

