Graffiti Moon – The Playlist

Okay. So this playlist is a little different from our previous ones. With the exception of Looking For Alibrandi, all the other books we’ve toured have had plenty of musical references, making their playlists 15 songs + at least. In Graffiti Moon, I only found mention of two songs (as well as a few references to bands/musicians). So what I’ve done is split it into 3 parts consisting of: the 2 songs from Graffiti Moon, 8 songs we heard/listened to on our 3 part book tour and 5 of our own picks! I hope you like it.

IN THE BOOK

Today by The Smashing Pumpkins

Ironic by Alanis Morissette

ON THE TOUR

Addicted To Love by Robert Palmer – This was playing in Savers. While Annette was studiously trying to find the perfect outfit, I was walk-dancing down the aisle behind her, being a creep while also trying to find the perfect outfit

Ain’t No Sunshine by Bill Withers – As mentioned in a previous post, we heard this playing live in a pub in Anderson Street in Yarraville. He sounded good, but I can’t get fully behind someone who chooses to cover it, but doesn’t include ALL of the 27 I know, I know’s in that one really annoying part of the song.

Thrift Shop by Macklemore feat. Wanz – We blasted this in the car after leaving Savers, a THRIFT SHOP. What what what what, what what what what….

Bohemian Rhapsody by Queen – Annette decided she needed to listen to this at some point while driving around during book tour 2. So we did.

Gangsta’s Paradise by Coolio feat L.V. – One of my picks, even though I still go to sing Amish Paradise more often than not when I hear this song…

Slide by Goo Goo Dolls – I distinctly remember putting it on while driving on the freeway on the way home from the CBD on book tour 1. Goddamn, I love this song.

Sexual Healing by Marvin Gaye – I took control of Annette’s iphone and chose this cos why the fuck not.

I Want You To Want Me by Letters To Cleo – Another of Annette’s I NEED TO HEAR THIS NOW songs

OUR PICKS

The Sound Of Silence by Simon & Garfunkel – ♪♫ And the sign said the words of the prophets are written on the subway walls ♫♪  For Shadow and Poet

Riot Van by Arctic Monkeys – ♪♫ Up rolls a riot van and sparks excitement in the boys ♫♪ – For Leo

Northern Wind by City & Colour – ♪♫ If I could just find you tonight ♫♪ – For Lucy

Feel Again by OneRepublic – ♪♫ But with you I feel again yeah with you I can feel again ♫♪ – For Ed

I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For by U2 – ♪♫ But I still haven’t found what I’m looking for ♫♪ – For Ed, Lucy, Leo and Jazz, the awesome foursome.

(Also posted on our playlists page).

Leave a Reply

