Top Ten Tuesday – 30. Freebie: Characters That I’d Name My Children After

TTT3W

 Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish (click on the picture to visit their blog). A new Top Ten list is posted every week for fellow bloggers to participate in.

_______________________________

 ANNETTE’S CHOICES

1. Thomas Mackee from Saving Francesca and The Piper’s Son by Melina Marchetta

2. Scout Finch, even though it’s not her real name, from To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

3. Lucy Dervish from Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley

4. Etienne St Clair from Anna And The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

5. Isaac from The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

RACHEL’S CHOICES

All the characters I’ve picked are characters who have both names I like (first and last) and personality traits I would want my children to have (in that alternate reality where I get over my phobia of children, somehow ensnare a male and decide to procreate with him).

1. Harper Gray from Something Like Normal by Trish Doller – I like that she’s not named for the person I always think of when I hear/read the name Harper (yep, you guessed it: Harper Lee). She doesn’t take shit – not from Travis, not from anyone, but she’ll still be there for you if you eff up. And she has green eyes. You always get points from me if you have green eyes.

2. Jude Scanlon from On The Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta – My love for this name probably has a bit to do with my love for Hey Jude. Besides that, Jude is a Marchetta man. So what else do I really need to say? I suppose I could talk about the fact his smile is so lovely, it brings tears to Taylor’s eyes. Imagine having that kind of smile.

3. Domenic Grady from The Incredible Adventures Of Cinnamon Girl by Melissa Keil – He’s an adorable piece of delicious curly-haired boy best friend that you can depend on until the end of the time. Sigh

4. Gracie Faltrain from The Gracie Faltrain series by Cath Crowley – Man, I loved reading this series. Gracie has such spunk. She  doesn’t think her actions through a whole lot but they always come from the heart and you can’t help but root for her. And she made me laugh.

5. Judith Finch from All The Truth That’s In Me by Julie Berry – She doesn’t seem strong, but once you read this story through, you’ll love her for her gumption. The lady finds the courage to learn to speak again (she had her tongue cut out) and through that, stands up to her overbearing mother, claims her one true love and brings her friend’s killer to justice (I don’t like the name Judith, but I can shorten it to Jude haha).

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 30. Freebie: Characters That I’d Name My Children After

    • thetometravellers says:

      Right?! It’s the best way to name them, I think. But I find it much easier to find boy names that I like than girl names. Only problem is if I fictional crush on a book character then I can’t use that name for a child, it’d be weird.
      – Annette

    • thetometravellers says:

      Right? It’s a really fun topic, I’m glad we got a freebie this week. While I don’t want kids, for some reason I often think about names that would mesh well together. Haha. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment – Rachel

    • thetometravellers says:

      Isn’t it awesome? I’ve just reread it for the 4th time and I freaking love that book. Have you read Where The Stars Still Shine? I didn’t enjoy it half as much but I’m excited for The Devil You Know. Thanks for stopping by and taking to comment 🙂 – Rachel

  1. thetometravellers says:

    It’s up there as one of my faves. I just wish it was a bit longer. Or there was a sequel. It wouldn’t make sense but I want moooooore. Haha. And I think I’m the black sheep with WTSSS, so if you enjoyed SLN, you should give it a go 🙂 And come back and comment, let me know what you think! 🙂 – Rachel

Leave a Reply

