My Reread Challenge 2015

Re-Read Challenge

For 2015, I decided I want to participate in a reading challenge other than the standard Goodreads one that I’ve participated in for the past two years to keep track of what books I’m reading every year (this year I’m just going to use BookLikes for that one though cos it doesn’t have some stupid reminder for when you’re behind. Good lord, that annoys the living shit out of me). The Reread Challenge seemed like a good one to go with when I saw it posted on Twitter. There’s always books that I read that I think to myself ‘I would read this again’ upon finishing. And I’m definitely a believer in rereading books – my favourites especially. They’re always there for me if I’m just not in the mood to read anything new or if I read a book I didn’t enjoy, cos I know my faves will never disappoint me. I just haven’t had a lot of opportunity to do so this past year cos a) I kept discovering some book I HAD to read RIGHT away and b) I’m quite happy with the books I’ve read – I have really enjoyed almost all that I’ve sunk my eyes into.

This challenge isn’t difficult or too involved. Annette and I did the Australian Women’s Writer Challenge in 2013 and I failed at it pretty spectacularly – not because the guidelines we set for ourselves were difficult or involved – I think it was because of the books I chose to read. But I’m hoping this one will be one I can stick to as I KNOW there’s books I want to reread (it was a Top Ten Tuesday topic in November). And I can’t claim that it will get in the way of reviewing books because Annette and I don’t do a lot of reviews. We only started doing some late this year as our blog is obviously more about the books we tour (also we’re lazy).

Anyhoo. Enough babbling. I’m aiming to reread 10-12 books. Some of these will be: The Cardturner by Lois Sachar, Island Of The Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell, The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson, Every Breath by Ellie Marney, Cracked Up To Be and This Is Not A Test by Courtney Summers, Saving June and Speechless by Hannah Harrington and the Lumatere Chronicles (Finnikin Of The Rock, Froi Of The Exiles and Quintana Of Charyn) by Melina Marchetta. I’m looking forward to the challenge and to reading these books again. Some I know I’m going to enjoy just as much as the first time I read them. Some I can’t remember as well, so fingers crossed! – Rachel

2 thoughts on “My Reread Challenge 2015

  1. Have fun re-reading The Sky is Everywhere and good luck with the challenge! I will finally be reading Every Breath (if I can find a copy, that is) and This Is Not A Test for the first time this year, which I’m really looking forward to.

    • thetometravellers says:

      Thank you! I’m really looking forward to revisiting The Sky Is Everywhere. It’s one that I can’t remember as well. I do, however, remember Joe. *grins*

      Every Breath I’m rereading for locations (it’s the next book Annette & I will be touring). I inhaled it the first time round (amazing) so I’m looking forward to reading it a bit slower this time.

      Let me know when you start This Is Not A Test, I just might read along with you 🙂 But if not – would still be interested to know your thoughts. I need someone to help me figure out how I feel about Courtney Summers’ books 😛

      Thanks for taking the time to comment and good luck to you too, with #DiversityDive (am seriously thinking about signing up for that too).
      – Rachel

Leave a Reply

