Top Ten Tuesday – 28. Books I Read In 2014

TTT3W

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish (click on the picture to visit their blog). A new Top Ten list is posted every week for fellow bloggers to participate in.

_______________________________

ANNETTE’S CHOICES

All I Ever Wanted and Friday Brown by Vikki Wakefield – OK I’m cheating and adding an extra book to my list, but they are both amazing and both by Vikki so whatevs.  It’s my blog and I’ll do what I like.  Goddamn, this woman is AMAZING.

Where The Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller – Great, as expected.  Though I did prefer Something Like Normal because swoon.

Gated by Amy Christine Parker – Adding this one as it was unexpected.  It was a random audio book I borrowed and I knew nothing about it, but I really, really enjoyed it.  Very different to what I am used to.

Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers – I have said this in my previous posts about this book – seriously disturbing but seriously great.  Couldn’t put it down.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart – Because all the reasons everyone else liked it.

RACHEL’S CHOICES

I’ve read a lot of great books this year, so much so that I’m happy to say it was hard to narrow it down to just 5. All 5 I’ve chosen feature male MC’s (I’ve been on a bit of a male perspective kick this year). All 3 of the books I reviewed this year have made my list too (that doesn’t mean I’m only reviewing books I really liked though. Purely just a coincidence).

The Understatement Of The Year by Sarina Bowen – Third in a NA trilogy. I enjoyed the first nearly as much, but the second was a bit disappointing. This book was my fave. It had just the kind of romance I like reading about – sexy, sweet and a little sad. Tackled struggling with one’s sexuality really well too. Loved Graham and Rikker’s story. Finally, an NA I can rave about!

Fault Line by Christa Desir – Had a book hangover like whoa. I said this twice in my review and I’m going to say it again. EVERYONE NEEDS TO READ THIS BOOK. EVERYONE. PLEASE AND THANK YOU.

Aristotle & Dante Discover The Secrets Of The Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz – I loved this book so hard. Beautifully written and so full of awesome quotes.

Ordinary Ghosts by Eireann Corrigan – One that took me by surprise. One that I wish more people knew of. Emil made me laugh. Here, read my review – I hope it will convince you to chuck it on your to-read list.

Sex & Violence by Carrie Mesrobian – One that I had wanted to read ever since it’s release, finally got my hands on it in May, after being stuck in a yucky reading slump for about a month (I was depressed cos I had no more Walking Dead to watch after marathon-ing 4 seasons in roughly 2 weeks). This book helped me out of that slump. Favourite male voice out of all that I’ve read this year and an excellent portrayal of a teenage boy recovering from assault.

Leave a Reply

