Top Ten Tuesday – 27. New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2014

TTT3W

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish (click on the picture to visit their blog). A new Top Ten list is posted every week for fellow bloggers to participate in.

_______________________________

ANNETTE’S CHOICES

I was introduced to many new authors this year, but a few of my favourites below;

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness – I bawled my eyes out. Thanks to my good friend ‘M’ for this recommendation

Sex and Violence by Carrie Mesrobian – Great male perspective, really enjoyed this book.

The First Third by Will Kostakis – So our male Aussie authors are just as good as our female ones…

Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers – I found this so disturbing that I had to put it down on several occasions. Brilliant piece of writing.

All I Ever Wanted and Friday Brown by Vikki Wakefield – Can you say new favourite author?…(obviously behind MM because reasons)

RACHEL’S CHOICES

What Happens Next by Colleen Clayton – My first read of the year, also her debut. Covers the aftermath of sexual assault. I really enjoyed it, am keeping an eye out to see what she comes up with next.

About A Boy by Nick Hornby – Listened to as an audio book. Made me laugh a lot. I liked it so much I bought a copy for myself.

The Sky So Heavy by Claire Zorn – Sorta reminded me of Tomorrow When The War Began. Very well written. I also own The Protected, want to get onto that soon.

The Girl With All The Gifts by M.R. Carey – Waaaaay different from anything I read these days. Very suspenseful, and kept me really interested all the way through.

In The Path Of Falling Objects by Andrew Smith  My first Andrew Smith book (I have about 4 others of his on my want-reads). Another one that was refreshingly different. A little disturbing too. But I get the Andrew Smith buzz.

Honourable mention: Freefall by Mindi Scott

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 27. New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2014

    • thetometravellers says:

      I listened to it as an audio book actually. The narrator was super annoying, otherwise I would’ve enjoyed it even more, I think. I have Winger, Stick, Grasshopper Jungle & Ghost Medicine in e-book form. Let me know what you think when you finally get to ITPOFO! And thanks for taking the time to comment 🙂 – Rachel

Leave a Reply

