Annette Reviews: All I Ever Wanted by Vikki Wakefield

All I Ever Wanted by Vikki Wakefield
Paperback, 202 pages
Published June 27th 2011 by Text
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction
How I Read It: I borrowed it off Rachel

Rating: 4 Stars

For my rating system, please click here

My blurb: ‘Almost 17 year old Mim doesn’t belong in her family and she doesn’t want to belong.  She doesn’t want to be a drug dealer, she doesn’t want to cross the road in her own neighbourhood to avoid vicious dogs and vicious people and she certainly doesn’t want to be anything like her mother.  But despite Mim’s rules, she finds herself getting pulled deeper and deeper into a life that she’s never wanted for herself.  And now she has to figure out how to pull herself out.’

Man, can Vikki Wakefield write!  As soon as I started reading this book I got a sense of…foreboding?  Darkness?  Melancholy?  No… perhaps I am best to describe the way she doesn’t write.  Her books aren’t light and fluffy, they aren’t puppies and rainbows or squealing with excitement.  They aren’t pastel.  They are heavy and serious and important and strong.  They are greys and blues, but with a bit of yellow at the edges.

I loved All I Ever Wanted, and I think some of it has to do with my own personal experiences.  And I don’t mean that in the sense that my life is anything like Mim’s, but I work with a lot of young people whose lives are like that.  And I know that, despite what people might think, these young people don’t want their lives to be like that, it’s just really really hard to stop it from happening.  So this book, to me, is truth.

Mim is such a strong character and there were so many moments in the book where, if it were me, I would just roll myself in a ball and cry, but Mim carries on.  She reminds me of someone I know, who is very dear to me, which made the book just that much better.  There are so many things to love about this novel, that I can’t possible list them all, but I can’t finish without mentioning the love interest.  I don’t want to spoil anything, but I would like to thank Vikki for doing this differently and telling another side.

– Annette

Leave a Reply

