Image

Top Ten Tuesday – 20. Books I’ve Read So Far This Year

Top Ten Tuesday - 20. Books I've Read So Far This Year

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish (click on the picture to visit their blog). A new Top Ten list is posted every week for fellow bloggers to participate in.

_______________________________

ANNETTE’S CHOICES

Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins – I read this one in about 2 days.  I found it really funny and cute and it was just once of those books that suited my mood at the time I was reading it.

Friday Brown by Vicki Wakefield – This book broke my heart.

Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers – I found this book incredibly depressing and dark.  And I actually had to put it down on more than one occasion because it was giving me heart palpitations.  But I think that shows how well written it is.

In Slumber Creeping by Emma Hoare – My friends first published book.  This was uber exciting and I am so very proud of her!

The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot – Listened to this as an audio book, read by Anne Hathaway.  It made me giggle and took some of the boring out of the drive to work.

RACHEL’S CHOICES

Sex & Violence by Carrie Mesrobian – I had been wanting to get my hands on this one ever since it came out last year, mostly because the synopsis intrigued me from the first time I read it. The MC was a teenage male, which I found to be refreshing and though what Evan goes through is so painful and raw, Carrie writes with such humour, wit and sarcasm – I really liked it. And I think what I liked most is that it didn’t end the way I thought it was going to. I love being surprised in that way.

Whisper by Chrissie Keighery – With a deaf MC, this was another one that was different to what I’ve become accustomed to. I found it really interesting and it made me want to learn sign language.

To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee – I still can’t believe I finally read it. I’m so glad I did, cos I really did love it.

The Help by Kathryn Stockett – ‘You is kind. You is smart. You is important.’ Such an important issue to write about and an amazing audio book to listen to. Loved it

Every Word by Ellie Marney – Haven’t finished this one yet, but it’s made the list cos I have loved reading about Mycroft and Watts’ London adventure in the next installment in this awesome crime trilogy. And holy moly me oh my – the sexual tension is just off the charts. I’ve pretty much had to fan myself down, numerous times.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 20. Books I’ve Read So Far This Year

    • thetometravellers says:

      Sorry I didn’t respond to this! Set it up to post automatically and I was overseas when it did…then I forgot. I was very tentative reading hex hall but I loved it. You need to be in the mood for a light, funny read though I think.

      I only read 2 princess diaries books but I really enjoyed them. The second book was exponentially better than the second movie!
      – Annette

    • thetometravellers says:

      Sorry about the lack of reply! It involved being overseas and pure forgetfulness. I think Hex Hall is a bit silly too, but I think that’s what I liked about it. But To Kill a Mockingbird and The Help are amazing!

Leave a Reply

