Image

14. Luna Park – GD

14. Luna Park

On February 23rd, 2014, we set off on a new tome travel of Simmone Howell’s ‘Girl Defective’.  Fortunately for us, Simmone had already mapped out the locations on Google Maps.  You can view this here.  This map, combined with a re-read and a very helpful list that Simmone kindly provided us with, allowed us to map out Girl Defective in photo form.  We are very happy to share it with you all.    

____________________________________________________

‘I was going to Luna Park, with my crazy brother, in search of a mythical white jeep… Gully’s laugh was like helium, or the first dip on the Scenic Railway… Dad called Luna Park the mouth of Hell…’  pg 191, 193 & 194

You know what really grinds my gears? When people get in the way of my photographing. I don’t claim to be a good photographer (in fact, I often talk about how much I suck at it and I apologise for the sub-standard examples we post on this blog), but I do try my best to take the time to get a proper shot and people that stand in front of me when I’m clearly trying to do just that makes me want to throw my camera at the back of their heads. We were in a bit of hurry to get a photo of Luna Park and I was already annoyed cos the Scenic Railway just flew right on by me when I was trying to get a photo so the fact that some idiot tourist wouldn’t move out of my way wasn’t sitting well with me. Obviously, he eventually moved & I got the money shot of that creepy-ass clown mouth. (Just quietly, I love how blue the sky is in our GD photos. It really was an awesome day for it).

– Rachel

Leave a Reply

