Top Ten Tuesday – 19. Books I Almost Put Down But Didn’t

TTT3W

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish (click on the picture to visit their blog). A new Top Ten list is posted every week for fellow bloggers to participate in.

_______________________________

ANNETTE’S CHOICES

The Casual Vacancy by J.K.Rowling – I WISH I put this book down. I kept reading it thinking it would have some redeeming factor but alas, it did not.

Primal Fear by William Diehl – This took me a really long time to read and I almost put it down, but I promised a friend I would read it. I finished it and was pretty impressed with the ending (maybe I’m just a bit thick, but I didn’t see it coming). All in all a good book but a bit waffle-y for my liking.

My Most Excellent Year by Steve Kluger – I am actually reading this right now, at Rachel’s insistence. It’s taking me a while (haven’t had much time to read) but I was considering not finishing it. However, I am starting to get into it now, so we will see what the end result is!

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson – I did put this book down initially. I found it really confusing and couldn’t get past the first few chapters. I don’t know why, but I picked it up about a year later and finished it, along with the following 2 books.  I really enjoyed it at the time, but to be honest, it hasn’t been long lasting. I barely remember the story now, although I do remember some of the more gruesome parts, so that’s depressing.

Easy by Tammara Webber – This is less of an ‘almost put down’ and more of an ‘almost didn’t pick up’.  I was skeptical when Rachel gave it to me to read, and I was a bit shocked actually, it’s not her usual style. But I read it (because she’s usually right) and I loved it!! Sure, Lucas is totally unbelievable and you would never find a non-fictional version of him, but who cares?! That’s what fiction’s for, right?

 

RACHEL’S CHOICES

The Help by Kathryn Stockett – I have just finished this one. I listened to it as an audio book, and it was awesome. I’ve had it on my kindle forever and I tried to read it back in 2011, but the language annoyed me, so I gave up until 3 years later. Go me.

To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee – Originally picked it up when I was meant to read it in year 10 of high school. Finally completed it this year by listening to it as an audio book (although I did read the last quarter). Loved it. It was a book that I vowed to myself I would one day complete and I’m proud to say I did!… And only eight years later…

Finnikin Of The Rock by Melina Marchetta – Yes. This book must be put on this list, much to my never-ending shame (Annette loves lording it over me, but I do have the fact that she didn’t know about The Gorgon In The Gully until I told her, to lord over her so we’re sorta even). I tried to read it straight after I finished Saving Francesca (sometime in 2009) but I don’t think I even got past the prologue. My only defense is I’m not the biggest fantasy reader and it just didn’t seem very Marchetta-like to me. It wasn’t until I became good friends with Annette that I tried again (basically at her insistence) and persevered with it until I read that ending & I was in love, yet again, with another Marchetta novel. Love love looooooooove the whole trilogy.

Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson – I bought this from the Book Depository on some random buying spree ageeeeeees ago. Tried it, but couldn’t get into it so it was put on my TBR shelf until late last year when it was recommended to me as something light and fluffy to help get me out of a depressed post-Mockingjay funk. I remembered I did actually own it and I love road trips so I thought, yes, it is time! It was cute and sweet and I was pleasantly surprised.

Water For Elephants by Sara Gruen – Yet another I ended up listening to as an audio book. I do actually own the book, but couldn’t get into it when I originally tried to read it. But it was an Annette recommendation and I wanted to eventually finish it. I did like it, but I think I built it up a bit too much so I didn’t like it as much as I thought I would.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 19. Books I Almost Put Down But Didn’t

    • thetometravellers says:

      Yeah, I remember pretty much instantly changing books on my kindle. Haha. Glad I’m not alone there. The audio book was really, really good – one of the two that I have genuinely enjoyed. Thanks for taking the time to comment 🙂 – Rachel

  1. If I’d known some of the stuff that happens in Girl With The Dragon Tattoo and sequels, I wouldn’t have picked it up. The original title, Men Who Hate Women, is pretty appropriate.

    • thetometravellers says:

      Agree! If it was called that, I wouldn’t have picked it up and subsequently been traumatised.

  2. I’m glad Easy was good, I bought it when everyone was raving about it but then proceeded to ignore it, must read it soon! And I totally understand re. Finnikin – it was such a change for me at the time but I pushed through and ended up loving it

    • thetometravellers says:

      Yeah, Easy was definitely one that surprised me. I was convinced Annette was going to hate it so that was another surprise. Haha. I’ve heard recently tho, that the author is releasing pretty much the same book, but from Lucas’ POV *rolls eyes* Reminds me of those Jamie McGuire ‘Beautiful Disaster & Walking Disaster’ abominations. Haha.
      Yay, I’m not alone with Finnikin! I think I was just being slack & stubborn really. I couldn’t get my head around the idea of Marchetta fantasy and kept putting it off. But yes, now I love it. And I love Froi & Quintana even more and I’ve been itching to do a reread for months. Thank you for all your comments lately, we love getting them 🙂 – Rachel

Leave a Reply

