Top Ten Tuesday – 17. Books That Will Make You Swoon

TTT3W

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish (click on the picture to visit their blog). A new Top Ten list is posted every week for fellow bloggers to participate in.

_______________________________

I wanted to start this post with ‘I am VERY excited about this week’s topic’ and then I realised how gross that sounds… so instead I wrote it anyway and just made reference to it in order to make it less awkward (that works, right?)

I’m going to be a little more specific and name the characters that made me swoon in my chosen books. Also, I’m a little ashamed to say that I needed a bit of help from Rachel with this post, but in my defence, this was not as a result of not having swoon-worthy characters, but as a result of having a terrible memory (I know, I know, this is still not an excuse) coupled with being extremely fatigued when writing this post.  So I can’t take credit for all of these (shout out to Rachel – woop woop).

1. Thomas Mackee – The Piper’s Son by Melina Marchetta.

The boy is a GOD.  He plays guitar, he’s a bit wounded, he has a good sense of humour and he is infatuated with Tara. I am so jealous of Tara.

2. Etienne St. Clair – Anna & The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins.

French. Curly hair. Totally adorable.

3. Augustus Waters – The Fault In Our Stars by John Green.

Augustus Waters gives me unrealistic expectations about men… Well, technically he’s a boy but if I start thinking about the age thing it just gets a bit weird. What a smooth talker! Practically everything that comes out of his mouth is quote-worthy and he’s ‘acutely aware of his own physical attractiveness’ but not a douche bag.

4. Lucas Maxfield – Easy by Tammara Webber

Ok, so Lucas is completely swoon-worthy and also completely unrealistic.  As if someone this perfect exists? But really, who cares? It’s fiction and we are allowed to crush on characters who would never have a real-life equivalent.

5. Jonah Griggs – On The Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

Is Melina Marchetta not incredibly gifted? Seriously, the woman can write irresistible boys.

6. Jacob Coote – Looking For Alibrandi by Melina Marchetta.

As above. With an added ‘OMG-Kick-Gurry-is-so-cute-and-I-love-him-especially-in-that-scene-in-his-bedroom-after-Josie-storms-out-and-he’s-in-a-singlet-and-he-wear-beanies-as-well-oh-my-god-why-did-he-have-to-age-badly!?’

7. Travis Stephenson – Something Like Normal by Trish Doller

Another tortured soul. What is it that makes them so attractive? Maybe it comes down to an innate need to fix everyone… But enough with the psychoanalysing, he’s hot. ‘Nuff said.

8. Adam Wilde – Where She Went by Gayle Forman

I chose Where She Went instead of If I Stay because I found Adam more swoon-worthy in this one, and the guy who is playing him in the movie, whose name escapes me, is also quite attractive which adds to the whole ‘crush on a fictional character’ thing.

9. Jake Tolan – Saving June by Hannah Harrington

Apparently I like clichés…dark clothes, broody, into music…

10. The men of the Lumatere Chronicles by Melina Marchetta

So I cheated, but I couldn’t decide who I have a bigger crush on and it changes depending on who I’m reading about at the time (also, Melina clearly dominated here because her characters are soooo good!) When I say ‘the men’ I love them all because they are great characters, but in terms of swoon-ness, it’s between Lucien, Froi and Finnikin. I think Lucien is probably my number 1, followed by Finnikin and then Froi. But honestly, if any of them approached me to take me as their bride, I wouldn’t be turning them down in the hopes of an offer from another.

– Annette

Leave a Reply

