Image

Top Ten Tuesday – 15. My Reading Wishlist

Top Ten Tuesday 15. My Reading Wishlist

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish (click on the picture to visit their blog). A new Top Ten list is posted every week for fellow bloggers to participate in.

__________________________________________

This is my first Top Ten in nearly 6 months and in all that time, I still haven’t become organised enough to get it ready a few days in advance, so you’ll have to excuse me if it’s incredibly shit. Also, just for a change, I’m struggling with the topic this week. I would love to just make it all about the books I want Melina Marchetta to write using characters from her other books, but I feel like that would be cheating, so I’m going to chuck a few different things in. Also also, I’m sure that a few book wishes from this list will most likely have spawned books already in existence, and I may or may not be aware of them. So if you’re reading this and think you might know of a book that I do not, please feel free to comment and let me know, because I always need more books to chuck on my TBR list. Anyhoo, my Top Ten is as follows, in no particular order after number one:

1. A book about James Hailler – Ok, at least one next-Melina-Marchetta-book request has to be in here and this is definitely number one. It’s been talked about and now it’s really just a matter of time. Come on, MM, I need this book in my life! My happiness depends on it!

2. A wider variety of book spine colours – Bit out there, but as one of my favourite things to do is vacantly stare at my bookshelf for hours on end, a bit of colour is always nice on the eyes. My Harry Potter and Roald Dahl books provide a nice contrast with multiple colours on their spines, but the majority of the other ones are generally only a singular light or dark colour. I really think I need more shades of red, orange and yellow. Deep fuchsia will do just fine. (holy crap, number 2 and I’m babbling like nobody’s business).

3. Redheaded protaganists – Yeah so, this is lame. I know that. But I can’t help it. Being one myself, I just enjoy reading books with gingers as the MC. It makes me feel less alone in this cruel world where we are constantly being condemned for our vibrant tresses. Hahaha.

4. A book featuring a reunion of sorts – I’m not sure why but I think it has something to do with the fact that recent thoughts of mine have led me to conclude that if ever I were to write a book, it would be about a 10 year high school reunion. And I want someone else to write about it first…? I dunno. I have no idea why I would even want to write about a high school reunion, as I have absolutely no interest in going to my own, but there you go.

5. Books featuring road trips – I love love love LOVE road trips. Saving June is one of my fave books for this reason. And really, the only other books I’ve read that feature road trips is Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour and In Honour. I enjoyed them both – AARED more so, but 3 isn’t enough for me. I really want more road trip books. So, someone get on that please.

6. A proper epilogue for Harry Potter – Was anyone satisfied with the DH epilogue? Show of hands please… Yep, that’s what I thought. It’s about time JK Rowling understood that I’m eventually going to require a comprehensive summary of what happened to absolutely everyone for about 50 years or so after the great battle of Hogwarts. *Nods*

7.  The next Ferragost short story – I know, I know. I tried, but it just has to be on this list. I think it’s a combination of the fact that it’s also been hinted at and I’ve been having strong cravings to reread the Lumatere Chronicles… Ok ok, who am I kidding, I was always planning to include it…

8. A book where everyone dies – I’ve always had a perverse desire to read a book where absolutely everyone dies. I’m not sure why. When I think about it properly, I know it would be super depressing… I’ve got it! I want a happy book where everyone dies. Yeah. I wonder if anyone could pull that off?

9. To read Wildlife – So I’m nearly finished and S-T-ruggling at this point, and this is a cop-out, but I really need to read Wildlife by Fiona Wood. I have a copy and I really really want to, but something is holding me back and I’m not sure what. So I’ve resolved (as of now) to conquer this weirdness and read it before June.

10. More books with multiple mysterious, intertwining and at times, confusing storylines that all tie together in the end – On The Jellicoe Road and Holes are two of my favourite books that feature this element, and I want to see more authors tackle it as well as Louis Sachar and Melina Marchetta did.

– Rachel

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 15. My Reading Wishlist

  1. Jenna @ Rather Be Reading YA says:

    I love road trip books too. I’m doing a road trip challenge this year. It’s just a personal challenge, not one for others to join, but two of the books you mentioned are on my list (and the third has just been added to my Goodreads TBR) and you can see the rest of the list here.

    • thesideofwonder says:

      Awesome idea! I should set more challenges for myself. I did the Goodreads reading challenge and Australian Women’s Writer’s challenge last year and failed abysmally at AWW so I’m just sticking with the GR reading challenge again this year. Thanks for taking the time to comment!
      -Rachel

    • thesideofwonder says:

      Yes, I think I may have seen it done on a cop show as well. For some reason, I decided to try googling about it a while ago, but that didn’t work. Google failed me! Haha. Thanks for taking the time to comment!
      – Rachel

Leave a Reply

