Our Top Two Favourite Quotes From On The Jellicoe Road

‘My father took one hundred and thirty-two minutes to die.
I counted.
It happened on the Jellicoe Road. The prettiest road I’d ever seen, where trees made breezy canopies like a tunnel to Shangri-La. We were going to the ocean, hundreds of kilometres away, because I wanted to see the ocean and my father said that it was about time the four of us made that journey. I remember asking, “What’s the difference between a trip and a journey?” and my father said, “Narnie, my love, when we get there, you’ll understand,” and that was the last thing he ever said.’ – Narnie, pg 1

‘I fall in love with these kids over and over again and my heart aches for their tragedies and marvels at their friendship.’ – Taylor, pg 252

2 thoughts on “Our Top Two Favourite Quotes From On The Jellicoe Road

  1. Georgia says:

    My favourite has to be this one, said by Chaz,

    “It’s like when I was in year eight and we had to study The Diary of Anne Frank. I mean, she died of typhoid. Can you believe it? How could Anne Frank die of typhoid? The girl never kept her mouth shut, she was bloody annoying, and it was like nothing could kill what was inside of her. I thought, okay, maybe a gas chamber or a firing squad could kill her but not an illness that other people survived.”

    Gets me every time.

  2. thesideofwonder says:

    Hi Georgia.

    There are just far toooooo many quotes to choose from! Seriously, it’s such a quotable book. The first quote we chose was one we both agreed that we love the most and the second one we chose because it perfectly describes our feelings when we’re reading OTJR. I do like that one though, Chaz is one of my fave characters. Thanks for commenting!

    – Rachel

Leave a Reply

