Image

Top Ten Tuesday – 12. Best/Worst Movie Adaptations

Top Ten Tuesday - 12. Best/Worst Movie Adaptations

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish (click on the picture to visit their blog). A new Top Ten list is posted every week for fellow bloggers to participate in.
______________________________________________________

This topic is one that I find extremely difficult to talk about. I’ve mentioned before how very upset I get about book to movie adaptations because I just can’t seem to accept the fact that they haven’t made it exactly like the book (or very close to). So, not surprisingly, I found it easier to come up with more worst adaptations, but I have split it 50/50. My Top Ten is as follows:

Best Adaptations

1. Looking For Alibrandi – Aside from the fact I truly believe it’s a great adaptation, my love for this movie also has a lot to do with Kick Gurry…

2. Holes – I love the intertwining storylines in Holes. And I was really happy that they included them in the movie. Plus Khleo Thomas was just so cute as Zero!

3. The Boy In The Striped Pyjamas – Tough topic to read about and to watch, but it was really well done. For some reason, I didn’t see that ending coming. Perhaps it was because I read the book after seeing the movie. There were tears all over my face.

4. The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe – One of my childhood favourites and I was happy enough with this adaptation. Liam Neeson became one of my voice crushes after seeing this movie.

5. The Perks Of Being A Wallflower – Confession time. I only read half the book before I had to return it to the library, and I haven’t had the chance to re-borrow it yet. But I did think the movie was really well done and according to others, very true to the book.

Worst Adaptations

6. My Sister’s Keeper – The ending was changed, and thus the brilliant, heart-wrenching plot twist that Jodi Picoult came up with wasn’t included. Yeah, I still cried, but it made it just like any other sad character-dying-of-cancer movie.

7. The Hunger Games – Horrible. So bad. I love Jennifer Lawrence, but considering I found the book quite exciting to read, it annoyed the living shit out of me that I was actually bored while watching this movie.

8. Charlie And The Chocolate Factory (2005) – I still get confused when I think about it. This adaptation was your typical Tim Burton weird. And I didn’t like it. At all.

9. The whole Harry Potter series (Half Blood Prince in particular) – I can’t even begin to describe the disappointment I feel when I think of these adaptations of my all-time favourite fantasy series. It pains me beyond belief to say that I really don’t like them, and I can’t accept them.

10. Marley And Me – This one is borderline as I didn’t hate it as much as the others I’ve included, but there’s really just no comparison to the book.

– Rachel

Leave a Reply

