Image

The Cinematic Genius That Was BAIT 3D

The Cinematic Genius That Was BAIT 3D

I haven’t yet decided if the night we ventured out to see Bait 3D was one of the best and worst nights of my life, but it was certainly one of the most memorable. We headed out for dinner before driving into the CBD to see Bait 3D. We had plenty of time so we decided to visit the Coca Cola sign. All was going smoothly until we needed to get back to the cinema. At this stage we still had about an hour before the movie started and this should have been more than enough time. Alas, it was not. We drove to where we needed to be, but roadworks and a lack of parking meant that we couldn’t stop where we needed to. Being from Melbourne, I thought ‘never mind, I’ll just go around the block’. Silly me. We ended up on one side of the city, then on the other side, then in the inner suburbs. I think I was even driving on the wrong side of the road at one point. At first, it was funny and we were laughing hysterically. Then I got stressed and annoyed and it became less funny for me, but still rather funny for Rachel. To top it off, my GPS didn’t like to work in the city and Rachel has…questionable nagivation skills. Plus, she was laughing so hard and recording me ranting that she wouldn’t have had the time to direct me anyway. If we ever figure out how to format the video, we will upload that little gem on here one day. Eventually we found our way back to the cinema and I parked somewhere that I probably shouldn’t have. We stopped at Subway to get some cookies and, despite me ranting about the terrible state of Sydney roads and town planning, the guy behind the counter gave us some freebies. Score!

We then proceed to watch the best movie of our entire lives. Now, some critic reviews may claim that Bait had bad acting, a terrible story line and that ‘calling Bait 3D a crap film would be a compliment’ but I disagree. I only have 2 bad words to say about Bait: Lincoln Lewis. Other than that, it was a film fraught with hilarity. The use of firearms under water, a meat tenderiser for a weapon and an inappropriate nap made for many, many laughs. However, possibly the funniest thing to happen was not a part of the movie at all. Now, if you’ve seen the movie, you will know that there is not 1 but 2 sharks trapped in a flooded supermarket. One in the store and one in the underground car park. I am embarrassed to admit that I actually thought that there was one highly intelligent shark that was able to get from one level to another. In my defense, there was no credibility to any other part of the movie, so this is not an entirely illogical conclusion to jump to. This is a photo of us (looking delightful, wearing our 3D glasses over our normal glasses) taken when the credits were rolling, rather flushed from laughing so hard.

– Annette

Leave a Reply

