Image

Top Ten Tuesday – 9. Books Featuring Travel

Top Ten Tuesday - 9. Books Featuring Travel

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish (click on the picture to visit their blog). A new Top Ten list is posted every week for fellow bloggers to participate in.
______________________________________________________

In no particular order;

1. Life of Pi by Yann Martel – I found this book really hard to get into, but once I was actually at the ‘travelling’ part I found it incredibly compelling.  As a side note, I also found the movie adaptation to be very true to the story.

2. Tomorrow When the War Began by John Marsden – There are so many elements of travel in this book, from the initial camping trip to…well the rest (I don’t want to ruin it for anyone who may not have read it.) I love this series! It makes me think I could be badass…although I’m 110% sure I would be Kevin…

3. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling – I know some people found the travel in this tiresome, but I actually really liked it.  Although I love reading about Hogwarts, it was good to be able to explore some other places too

4. The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger – This was a surprise for me because I don’t usually like time travel (with the exception of When You Reach Me) because it makes my head spin. I think this one was so complicated that I just chose not to think about it too much so it didn’t bother me.

5. Saving June by Hannah Harrington –  Who doesn’t love a good road trip with great music? It’s a winning combination.

6. The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd – This book doesn’t have a great deal of travel in it, but the travel it does have is powerful. It’s got such purpose and so much promise and it opens up the rest of the story.

7. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins – There may not be much travel but there is some.  There is also Etienne.  Nuff said.

8. Paper Towns by John Green – There are lots of little ‘travel’ scenes in this and I love the way they are all interconnected. Plus… Road trip…

9. Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta – I still haven’t decided, but I think this is my favourite of the Lumatere chronicles and definitely the one with the most compelling travel in it.  I love that you get to explore so much of the land of Skuldenore in one book.

10. Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley – The travel doesn’t take them internationally or even interstate, but its travel nonetheless, and by van, bike and foot might I add.  It’s what I would have wanted my youth to be, sadly I’m just not that cool or artistically inclined.

– Annette

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 9. Books Featuring Travel

    • thesideofwonder says:

      TWTWB is one of the few series that I really enjoy, such a great Aussie classic. I like the idea of an honourable mentions list! I always have too many books to add my TT.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      – Annette

    • thesideofwonder says:

      I really recommend that you watch it. I am usually very reluctant to watch adaptations but I thought it was really good!

      – Annette

Leave a Reply

