Top Ten Tuesday – 8. Childhood Favourites

Top Ten Tuesday - 8. Childhood Favourites

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish (click on the picture to visit their blog). A new Top Ten list is posted every week for fellow bloggers to participate in.
______________________________________________________

Ok, so I know I’m really late with posting this week but I already had my topic picked out and my list written down so I’m just going to pretend, (for this week only) that the meme is actually Top Ten Friday.  I’ve chosen to do Childhood Favourites, and in no particular order, my list is as follows:

1. The Deltora Quest series 1, 2 and 3 by Emily Rodda – I still remember when I  bought the first book in the first quest. They were one of the first fantasy series I read. Have read them many times over the years and though I can now tell that they’re aimed at a younger audience, I never get tired of them.

2. Jodie’s Journey by Colin Thiele – I’d been after a proper copy for a long time and I’ve only recently managed to buy a used one online. The story-line involves a 12 year old who gets rheumatoid arthritis, so this one is a bit heart-breaking, but an overall lovely book that I’ve never forgotten.

3. Nancy Drew series by Carolyn Keene – As I eventually realised, Carolyn Keene was a name under which many different authors wrote so I can’t say I loved all of the different series. My favourite was the Nancy Drew files and it was because of Nancy Drew that my ambition all throughout grades 5 and 6 was to be a detective when I grew up.

4. The Dragon Of Mith by Kate Walker – First came across this book when my grade 4 teacher read it out to my class every Friday afternoon for ‘story time.’ Another one that I’ve recently bought second hand online and I actually just finished re-reading it a few days ago. So well-written with a very entertaining story-line.

5. Secret Friends by Elizabeth Laird – A haunting story about school-yard bullying that I’ve never been able to forget.

6. The Famous Five series by Enid Blyton – Does Enid Blyton ever really need to be explained? As far as I’m concerned, she is the master of children’s books, her books will always be celebrated as classics and I will always remember the adventures of Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timmy.

7. Charlie And The Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl – A book about a chocolate factory? Does there need to be another reason for me to love this story? I also really like it’s sequel, Charlie And The Great Glass Elevator and I’ve always wondered why it’s not as well known.

8. The Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe by C.S Lewis – My favourite of the chronicles, and I’ve always liked the fact that you can read it without needing to read the rest of them. I mean, I do like the rest of the books in the series, but I find it’s sometimes a bit of a struggle to get through them.

9. The BFG by Roald Dahl – I just had to include this one. I love the BFG, and I’ve wished many times that I could catch him outside my window in the middle of the night, and then we would go on an adventure together.

10. The Secret Island by Enid Blyton – Can’t tell you how many times I’ve read this book. It’s about 4 children who run away together and live on an island. They build a house out of Willow trees and smuggle chickens and a cow over to the island. It’s amazing.

– Rachel

Leave a Reply

