Image

Top Ten Tuesday – 6. Books Dealing With Tough Subjects

Top Ten Tuesday - 6. Books Dealing With Tough Subjects

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish (click on the picture to visit their blog). A new Top Ten list is posted every week for fellow bloggers to participate in.
______________________________________________________

So it goes without saying (I’m going to say it anyway) that all the books I’ve chosen for this week’s Top Ten deal with the subject I’ve singled out incredibly well. Being that majority of them are YA, I also like that the story lines don’t focus solely on the tough topic; they also include other typical elements of a YA novel. In no particular order, my Top Ten is as follows:

1. Something Like Normal by Trish Doller – War and the effect it has on soldiers.

2. Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta – Depression

3. Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers – Bullying

4. Speechless by Hannah Harrington – Homophobia

5. The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson – Death of a family member

6. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green – Cancer

7. This Is Not A Drill by Beck McDowell – School shooting

8. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes – Euthanasia

9. The Boy In The Striped Pajamas by John Boyne – The holocaust

10. The Pact by Jodi Picoult – Suicide

– Rachel

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 6. Books Dealing With Tough Subjects

  1. Rachel ~ This is quite possible the best and most comprehensive list I have seen of them all! Homophobia, Euthanasia and the effects of war on soldiers are all very difficult yet very real topics but yours is the first list I have seen to cover them as well as some books covered by no one else either. I am really impressed at the level of thought you put into this. 😉

    I have my Top Ten up on SnifferWalk Books, my blog. Come on by!

    • thesideofwonder says:

      Thank you, that’s really lovely of you to say! I thought I was going to struggle to think up 10 books, but it was actually quite easy in the end. There really is so many books covering tough subjects when you think about it so I tried to pick a few different ones that may not have been covered as much and I also wanted to more specific and make sure the books I included dealt with the my chosen subject really well. There’s nothing worse than reading a badly written book about a sensitive subject.
      Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to comment!
      – Rachel

    • thesideofwonder says:

      Thank you! I liked yours as well. Definitely agree with you about Me Before You, it surprised me too. I really been wanting to read Fifteen Days Without A Head and Wonder, but there’s just so many books and not enough time! Thanks for commenting!
      – Rachel

Leave a Reply

