Image

Top Ten Tuesday – 5. Books When You Need Something Light & Fun

 

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish (click on the picture to visit their blog). A new Top Ten list is posted every week for fellow bloggers to participate in.
_______________________________________________________

I’m usually a very organised person and tend to have things done in advance, but no such luck today!  So in light of that, I can’t guarantee that this post will be to standard.  After many revisions, I realised that, nowadays,  I don’t really read that many ‘light and fun’ books, so I had to get a bit creative .  In no particular order, my Top Ten is as follows;

1. The Gorgon in the Gully by Melina Marchetta – This may be a children’s book, but it doesn’t make it any less awesome.  Not only is it a great, short and fun read, but it features none other than Danny Griggs.

2. Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley – I loved this book and I’ve read it several times.  It does touch on some deeper issues, like family struggles and difficulties at school, but it’s told in a way that addresses the issues without making you feel depressed and heavy.

3. A Pocketful of Eyes by Lili Wilkinson – I read this for the AWW2013 challenge and I’m glad I did.  I loved the characters and the storyline.  I finished it and just felt happy.  Definitely a go-to book when you want something to just sit back and enjoy.

4. Gift of the Gab by Morris Gleitzman – Although it’s been many years since I’ve read this book, I still remember how much I loved it.  It’s aimed for a younger audience, but I don’t think that should stop you from reading it.  There shouldn’t need to be age restrictions on things.

5. Life in Outer Space by Mellisa Keil – So far I have only read this once, but I vow to change this soon!  This was probably my favourite read for the year so far.  The humour in this book is amazing and I felt inspired to go and take a photo with a bar tender, so I would certainly put this on my ‘light and fun’ list.

6. The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch – I um-ed and ah-ed about putting this on the list, if you’ve read it you will know why.  If you haven’t…I guess *Spoiler Alert* although I don’t feel too bad saying this because it tells you in the blurb.  Randy Pausch was asked to give a ‘Last Lecture’ at a University…he had also been diagnosed with terminal cancer.  So it seems weird to put it on the list of ‘light and fun’ when it seems so depressing.  But I didn’t find it depressing at all, I found it inspiring.  I guess it’s not really ‘light and fun’, but I would specifically choose to read this book if I was in a bad mood because it would actually make me feel better.  So that’s why it made the list.

7. The Magic Faraway Tree Series by Enid Blyton – Do I even need to explain this one?…

8. Paper Towns by John Green – I’m up to number 8 and I’m struggling to finish the list…but even still, I think Paper Towns deserves to be on it.  Even if it’s just for the quintessential John Green dialogue.  But it has a boy and a girl, a road trip, and Black Santa collecting parents.  I think that’s enough to secure it’s position on the list.

9. My Sister’s a Yo-Yo by Gretel Killeen – I used to read this book over and over again when I was younger.  I thought it was great.  I’d recommend it as a light and fun read for a young person aged 10-12

10. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams – This is actually a ‘light and fun’ want to read.  It’s been on my list forever, I’ve just never gotten around to it.  I should do something about that.

– Annette

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 5. Books When You Need Something Light & Fun

    • thesideofwonder says:

      Have you read any other Cath Crowley? I’ve read ‘Chasing Charlie Duskin’ and that was good too. Absolutely read Life in Outer Space, its great!

    • thesideofwonder says:

      Yeah, I agree with you. I always shed a tear or two (or thousands if it’s TFIOS) in John Green books, but I found paper towns the least teary. It was a bit of a stretch putting it on the list, but I rationalised it because when I think back on the book, I remember the fun things about it and I don’t feel sad. .

  1. I like that The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy makes it onto a few lists, it’s so silly and fun, I can’t believe I didn’t put it on my own list xD

    • thesideofwonder says:

      I really MUST read it. Although I have lots of books that I say that about…there’s just too many!!
      – Annette

Leave a Reply

