Top Ten Tuesday – 4. Words That Make Me Buy/Pick Up A Book

TTT3W

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish (click on the picture to visit their blog). A new Top Ten list is posted every week for fellow bloggers to participate in.
_______________________________________________________

So, I made an attempt to be a bit more specific with my words/topics and tried not to be too general but I feel I’ve failed a little with that, so I will be posting my list in order of most tempting to least tempting within my chosen ten. I have included examples for some as well.

1. Road trips. Absolutely love them (as you might’ve guessed if you’ve had the chance to check out this blog). It’s all about the sense of adventure they hold, the endless possibilities for spontaneity and excitement of discovering/visiting destinations unknown.

 Fave example: Saving June by Hannah Harrington

2. Music.  These books always make me wish I had the creativity and patience to learn an instrument. Musical characters and music-obsessed characters are my favourite types but I love books just featuring music in general as well. I get so excited over being able to make playlists from them.

Fave examples: If I Stay and Where She Went by Gayle Forman

3. Companion books. I get so sad after finishing a great book because, unless it’s a series, I know I have to say goodbye to characters that I’ve fallen in love with. So I am always excited when I hear the author is writing a companion for it, because I know that I’ll be seeing them again!

Fave example: Anna & The French Kiss and Lola & The Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

4. Melbourne. Australian books in general but Melbourne in particular. I read one not so long ago that spoke of streets not 5 minutes away from where I work, so it was really cool being able to have that visual sense of where the writer was setting her story.

Fave examples: Six Impossible Things by Fiona Wood and Life In Outer Space by Melissa Keil

5. Anything written by my favourite authors. Okay, so this one is really general but I will instantly buy, with no visual needed or blurbs read, books by Melina Marchetta and Gayle Forman.

6. Romances formed from childhood friendships. Showing my more cheesy side, but I can’t help it, reading these kind of romances just melt my cold, cynical heart.

Fave example: Summer Love by Wendy Loggia

7. Big families. Always fun to read about the big chaotic family, especially the ones where everyone has their special role within the family unit. Makes me wish I had a one myself.

Fave example: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

8. War. Not so much historical or factual books, but fictional stories that manage to capture the realness of war, I find I quite enjoy.

Fave examples: Something Like Normal by Trish Doller and the Tomorrow series by John Marsden

9. Young Adult. Again, I’m being really general but I don’t care because it’s 1am & I need to finish writing this and go to bed. I started reading young adult from quite early in my teens, despite not really knowing what genre the books I was reading belonged to. Needless to say, it’s my favourite genre and probably always will be.

10. Book to movie adaptions. I’ve usually already read the book before seeing the movie so it doesn’t happen often but whenever I find a movie I’ve watched has been adapted from a book, I just have to read the book as well for comparison… Which is a shame, as it usually ends up making me hate the movie.

– Rachel

Leave a Reply

