Image

Top Ten Tuesday – 2. Favourite Book Quotes

Top Ten Tuesday - 2. Favourite Book Quotes

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish (click on the picture to visit their blog). A new Top Ten list is posted every week for fellow bloggers to participate in.
__________________________________________________

So this is my first Top Ten Tuesday and I struggled all day with picking which list to do. After much deliberation, I decided on Favourite Book Quotes, stupidly thinking it would be relatively easy for my first TTT before I remembered there’s so many book quotes that I love. Silly Rachel.

Now I’m sure I’m stating the obvious here but if you’ve noticed anything about this blog, you know Annette and I love Melina Marchetta’s books, and when you take into consideration the fact her books are so extremely quotable, naturally many of my favourite quotes come from her books. So I thought, like Annette with her Top Ten Tuesday, that I should probably refrain from making my list all about MM, therefore I have only included three quotes from her books in this list. I have also made sure that, even though I often like more than one quote from a book, I haven’t included two quotes from the same book. And finally, I’m quite fond of long quotes, which you’ll probably notice when reading this list.

I’ve also tried to include a small explanation after each quote as to why I love it, but there are a few which don’t have one.

So without further ado, and in no particular order, my Top Ten Favourite Book Quotes are:

1. ‘Promise me you’ll never stop dreaming’ – Looking For Alibrandi by Melina Marchetta

Ok, I know I said no particular order but this one does deserve the number 1 spot. I absolutely adore this quote. The passion with which the character (Jacob Coote) says it blows me away every time I read it.

2. ‘Animal lovers are a special breed of human, generous of spirit, full of empathy, perhaps a little prone to sentimentality, and with hearts as big as a cloudless sky’ – Marley & Me by John Grogan

Besides the fact Marley and Me is one of my favourite books, this quote is also a favourite because it reminds me of a very close friend of mine.

3. ‘All I can think about is how fucked up it would be for your life to end here, now. I mean I know that your life is fucked up no matter what now, forever. And I’m not dumb enough to think that I can undo that, that anyone can. But I can’t wrap my mind around the notion of you not getting old, having kids, going to Juilliard, getting to play that cello in front of a huge audience, so that they can get the chills the way I do every time I see you pick up your bow, every time I see you smile at me.’ – If I Stay by Gayle Forman

4. ‘If I want more, I need to go and get it, demand it, take hold of it with all my might, and do the best I can with it.‘ – On The Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

So picking just one favourite quote from this book is pretty much impossible, but I decided to include this one as I actually relate to it on a different level than most of my other favourites from Jellicoe.

5. ‘I’m in love with you, and I’m not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasure of saying true things. I’m in love with you, and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we’re all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we’ll ever have, and I am in love with you.’ – The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

I don’t really have anything to say. Other than I love Augustus Waters.

6. ‘Maybe she’d always been there. Maybe strangers enter your heart first and then you spend the rest of your life searching for them.’ – The Piper’s Son by Melina Marchetta

7.  ‘Now at last they were beginning Chapter One of the Great Story, which no one on earth has read; which goes on forever; and in which every chapter is better than the one before.’ – The Last Battle by C.S Lewis

Even though I have recently discovered C.S Lewis incorporated numerous traditional Christian themes into the story lines of the Chronicles of Narnia, (which would usually put me off a book because I am not religious at all) I have loved this series since childhood and this quote is probably always going to have a spot in my favourites.

8. ‘It’s the best kind of devastating there is. He took his pain and he turned it into something beautiful. Into something that people connect to. And that’s what good music does. It speaks to you. It changes you. What I’m trying to say is, it’s just nice, I guess, knowing that someone else can put into words what I feel. That there are people who have been through things worse than I have, and they came out on the other side okay. Not only that, but they have made some kind of twisted, fucked up sense of the completely senseless. They made it mean something. These songs tell me I’m not alone. If you look at it that way, music… music can see you through anything.’ – Saving June by Hannah Harrington

This is exactly how I feel about music and the power it can have.

9. ‘We are born in one day. We die in one day. We can change in one day. And we can fall in love in one day. Anything can happen in just one day.’ – Just One Day by Gayle Forman

This one is a new favourite, but a favourite nonetheless.

10. ‘I told him a story of two people. Two people who shouldn’t have met, and who didn’t like each other much when they did, but who found they were the only two people in the world who could possibly have understood each other. And I told him of the adventures they had, the places they had gone, and the things I had seen that I had never expected to. I conjured for him electric skies and iridescent seas and evenings full of laughter and silly jokes. I drew a world for him, a world in which he was still somehow the person he had wanted to be. I drew the world he had created for me, full of wonder and possibility.’ – Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

– Rachel

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 2. Favourite Book Quotes

  1. I like the one about music, I chose theme songs for books this week – I love music too.

    I haven’t read Me Before You yet because I know it’ll make me sad – your quote proves it. I got a little teary reading it!

    • thesideofwonder says:

      Hi Rory,
      As I said above, I love how that quote perfectly describes the way I feel about music. I was going to do theme songs for books for my top ten but then when I thought about it, I realised all the songs I would pick are ones I associate with the books only because the songs are in the books. Does that make sense? I hope that makes sense. Haha.
      The song that the quote is referring to is Tears In Heaven by Eric Clapton, in case you wanted to know. Have you read Saving June? I highly recommend!
      I know, how lovely is that quote? It’s why you must read Me Before You, even if it makes you cry! And then report back to me with what you think 🙂
      – Rachel

  2. I too love the quote from ‘Saving June’ but for me it’s the fact that people can put into words things that I’ve felt … can make sense of the senseless, give it meaning and frame it in a way that helps me see things in from a new perspective. I love that! Sometimes I can even do it for myself which is deeply satisfying. I am also struck by Gayle Forman’s quote from ‘If I Stay’ … she really seems to understand that sense of being right on the edge and it speaks to the part of us that has trouble ‘staying’ … I must read this book! Thanks Rach!

    • thesideofwonder says:

      Hey Taylor
      Definitely agree with you there, I love it when I am able to find the words to eloquently express myself. But borrowing other people’s words just seems to work out better for me most of the time. 🙂
      I’m sure I’m stating the obvious here, but two of the quotes on this list do that for me, which is why they were included.
      The If I Stay quote makes me teary every time. So yes, you definitely must read it! AND it’s sequel, Where She Went. Which reminds me, have you read Alibrandi yet? 🙂 xo

Leave a Reply

