Image

Top Ten Tuesday – 1. Favourite Books I Read Before I Was A Blogger

Top Ten Tuesday Favourite Books I Read Before I Was A Blogger

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish (click on the picture to visit their blog). A new Top Ten list is posted every week for fellow bloggers to participate in.
______________________________________________

This was an incredibly difficult list for me to write, not because it’s asking about my top 10 books before I was a blogger, because I have only been blogging for about 5 months, but for several other reasons;

  • I am a Melina Marchetta addict, so all of her books are favourites for me.
  • There are several series that I love which, if included, would make up the bulk of the 10 books, not leaving enough room for other books I love.
  • I started thinking about what makes a book a ‘favourite’. Is it how many times I have read them, if I have recommended them to other people, or simply the long lasting opinion I have from a book, even years after I’ve read it?

As a result, I wrote and re-wrote my list, never feeling as though I was quite hitting the mark. I felt like I would be judged by some all-knowing, blogging God who might smite me down for putting a book on my list when I haven’t really talked about it that much or made it publicly known that I like it (shh…it’s my first Top Ten and I want to make it right…plus…this is just where my brain goes sometimes). So to save me from sure insanity (or slight frustration at least) I have put some parameters in place to help guide me.

  • I have decided not to include all of Melina Marchetta’s books, instead choosing only my top 2.
  • For any series I love, I have chosen to include only my favourite book from the series.
  • I am using a combination of things to decide my favourite books. Some of the books on this list I have read so many times the pages are starting to fall out, others I have only read once, but will never forget.

So here are my Top Ten Favourite Books I Read Before I Was A Blogger;

  1. On The Jellicoe Road – Melina Marchetta
  2. The Fault in our Stars – John Green
  3. The Piper’s Son – Melina Marchetta
  4. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix – J.K. Rowling
  5. The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins
  6. Where She Went – Gayle Forman
  7. The Help – Kathryn Stockett
  8. Water for Elephants – Sara Gruen
  9. The Secret life of Bees – Sue Monk Kidd
  10. Marley and Me – John Grogan

– Annette

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 1. Favourite Books I Read Before I Was A Blogger

  1. Great list Annette! Look at you, defining how you came to do your Top Ten. 🙂 It was so difficult to pick a Top Ten because I was going through the same type of questions you did. For me, what ended up making the list is those that I thought of immediately. I wrote them down books that immediately came to mind–crossed off a few because they have been written about either here or the staff intranet. So my list was the byproduct of that thought process. 🙂

    Welcome to Top Ten and thanks for stopping by my spot. Happy Reading!

    • thesideofwonder says:

      Yes it was a bit of a process! I’m not quite sure why I felt compelled to explain it to everyone though 😛 but I’m glad that its not just me that finds it difficult to narrow down the list.

      Thanks for commenting!
      – Annette

  2. Isn’t it funny (?) how our minds do ‘that thing’ with the judgement and the what if I leave out one tiny detail scenario … ‘God’ will punish me (or whoever) I believe it’s considered ’emotional intelligence’ when we can challenge this ‘radio doom and gloom’ chatter our minds offer us. When we can turn away from this annihilating p.o.v and find a compassionate way to deal with our thinking. I love that you shared that with us Annette and I LOVE ‘The Secret Life of Bees’ … love Taylor xxx

    • thesideofwonder says:

      It is funny…and now whenever I think along those lines I always remember the quote from The Fault In Our Stars;
      “I’m in love with you, and I’m not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasure of saying true things.”
      I would love to adopt this attitude in my everyday life, but its not as easy as it sounds. It is a work in progress though!

Leave a Reply

