Looking For Alibrandi: The Movie – Our Thoughts

Annette

I first saw Looking For Alibrandi when I was about 13 years old and my sister was studying it at school. I remember liking the movie, but I don’t know that it had a huge impact on me at the time. To be honest, I don’t think I really had the capacity to understand more than the very basics of the storyline. Now, it is one of the very few movies that I own (my collection is limited to movies that I want to watch over and over again, so really, that’s an honour!)

I must admit that I am generally not a fan of book to movie adaptations and I am usually left bitterly disappointed. Having seen the movie of Looking For Alibrandi first (many times) I was pleasantly surprised when I read the book and realised how many similarities there were. For me, Looking For Alibrandi is the best movie to book adaptation ever made, and I have no doubt that is due to Melina writing the screenplay.

There are so many things I love about the movie, but if I start I’ll never stop, so here are a few of my favourites;
– My favourite actor cast for this movie is Kick Gurry (swoon! But no, it’s not all about the looks, I think he is perfect for the role).
– My favourite song in this movie is Teenager of the Year by Lo-Tel
– My favourite scene is when Josie sees Jacob on the tram, it’s tragically depressing and it breaks my heart every time, so I’m not sure why I love it so much. Maybe because it captures the raw emotion that I think Melina writes about so well
– My favourite dialogue is when Jacob gives his Have a Say Day speech

So to sum up: Looking For Alibrandi = best movie adaptation ever made in the history of book to movie adaptations and if you haven’t seen it yet I demand you go to your local video store (or even better, JB) and hire/buy it and watch it immediately!

Rachel

The first time I watched Looking For Alibrandi, I wasn’t overly impressed, probably because there is very few book-to-movie adaptions that I approve of. As hard as I try, I just can’t seem to separate books from their adaptions in my mind and I spend my whole time while watching them comparing the ways in which they are different, and to my great annoyance, I generally always find the movie lacking.

Although I watched it a few more times after that and even bought it on a random DVD spending spree, it wasn’t until after I read about Jellicoe being adapted and I had finished reading LFA yet again, that I sat down and watched it and really paid attention. And I discovered that I really, really like it. It’s now one of the two book-to-movie adaptions that I like (the other being Holes by Louis Sachar). Interestingly, what they have in common is that the screenplays were written by the author of the book, which is what I believe is the key to a likeable adaption. But that’s enough babbling on about that, cos I could go on forever. Haha

I’m going to follow on from Annette here and also list my favourite things about Looking For Alibrandi:

– Actor: Kick Gurry as Jacob Coote – I’ve mentioned before how perfectly cast I think he was.

– Dialogues: John Barton’s note to Josie and Jacob’s Have A Say Day speech – I actually like them more than the book versions. I know it’s still Melina’s work, but trust me, no one was more surprised than I when I admitted that to myself.

– Songs: Tintarella Di Luna by Mina  and Miss You Love by Silverchair – I know no more than the title words to Tintarella Di Luna, but one of my favourite scenes is when everyone’s dancing to it in the closing scene. Whenever I hear Miss You Love, it reminds me of Jacob… So… Enough said there.

– I have too many favourite scenes to choose from so I’m going to mention a few.

  • “Bye John.” Makes me laugh every time.
  • The aforementioned dancing scene, more specifically, Jacob’s goofy dancing.
  • When Josie visits Jacob at his house.

As is the case with the book, I sometimes forget how much I like it until I watch it again, but if you haven’t watched it because you are a hardened book-to-movie adaption critic like myself, trust me when I say, you definitely won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

